Mobile Version
Banner Bottom Image


CLAMS







My Account  |  New Titles  |  Help


eBook Help
Research Databases
Resources for Readers
Services for People with Disabilities





Resources for Brooks Free Library cardholders:
 
 
Flipster Flipster: Full color, digital magazines are now available with your Brooks Free Library CLAMS card through Flipster. These digital magazines look exactly like the print version. Download the Flipster app to your iPhone/iPad, Android, and Kindle Fire devices. Current and past issues are available for “check out.” Click here for help and here for F.A.Q.s

Consumer Reports Consumer Reports: Access to Consumer Reports magazine plus additional reviews and reports

lynda.com lynda.com is a video-based online learning company offering thousands of video courses in software, creative, and business skills.

P4 Antiques P4A: Antiques database that includes thousands of items that have been listed and/or sold at auction houses nationwide
 

Freegal Freegal Music Library: Registered card holders of the Brooks Free Library can download a select number of Sony Music tracks in the MP3 format each month at no direct cost. The library will underwrite the purchase of the music.

NewsBank NewsBank - Boston Metro Collection (FREE access to recent and archived articles from the Cape Cod Times, Harwich Oracle, Cape Codder, Cape Cod Chronicle, the Register, the Upper Cape Codder and Mass. newspapers.)

See links below for free access to articles from BOSTON GLOBE, NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL and other newspapers and magazines.

_
Novelist Plus  is a comprehensive readers’ advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its intuitive interface and extensive feature content, NoveList Plus will help you to answer the question of what to read next.

Heritage Quest Magazine 1985-1999, on CD-ROM HeritageQuest Online For researching genealogy, local history and American culture. Includes access to U.S. Census through 1930.

Ancestry Logo Ancestry.com is available for in-house use at the Library

Brooks Academy Digitized Harwich Independent and Cape Cod Republican newspapers are available for use at the Library and Brooks Academy Museum.

ebooks and eaudios Downloadable E-Books and E-Audiobooks from CLAMS using Overdrive.

Axis 360 platform provides access to even more digital content for Brooks Free Library Patrons. Provided through the Commonwealth eBook Collection, Axis 360 is available to Mass. residents with a library card.

Hoopla allows you to instantly borrow movies, music, audiobooks, eBooks, comics, and more with your library card! Browse the rapidly growing collection for best sellers and hits. There are no waitlists, and no late fees. Brooks Free Library card holders can download five (5) items per month through Hoopla.

Tumble Books for Children
Picture books for young children with animation, sound, music & narration. Games and activities included with some titles.
.

Tumble Book Cloud Junior Tumble BookCloud Junior for elementary students
Go beyond picture books with chapter books, graphic novels, classics & audio books. Includes read-alongs with adjustable text and color as well as sentence by sentence highlighting the text being read.

Tumble Book Cloud Tumble BookCloud for middle and high school
Young Adult/Teen novels, classics, poetry, short stories, audio books, graphic novels & video. Includes
read-alongs with adjustable text and color as well as sentence by sentence highlighting the text being read.

RESOURCES FOR ANY MASS. RESIDENT  WITH A LIBRARY CARD:

Boston Globe
- free access to current content and archives
New York Times - free access to current content and archives
Newspapers, Magazines and Journal Articles including Wall Street Journal
Books & Authors
  Lively reviews and recommendations makes book selection fun.
Encyclopedia Brittanica
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Massachusetts History Online

 
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH
RELATED TO BUSINESS, HEALTH, TRAVEL, HISTORY, THE ARTS,
LITERATURE, SCIENCE AND REFERENCE DATABASES FOR STUDENTS ARE
AVAILABLE TO ANY MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENT WITH A LIBRARY CARD

click here to access the following databases:
 

General Reference & Research Topics

ACADEMIC ONEFILE - A comprehensive periodical resource of full-text peer-reviewed content  covering all subjects

EDUCATOR'S REFERENCE COMPLETE -More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.

Encyclopaedia Britannica - The largest, most comprehensive encyclopedia in the world. Includes World Data Analyst, videos, images, links to approved quality web sites, Merriam Webster's Dictionary and Merriam Webster's Dictionary of Quotations and the Public Library Kids' Edition.

EXPANDED ACADEMIC ASAP - scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers

GENERAL ONEFILE - Business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Gale SCIENCE IN CONTEXT* - Contextual information on today's most significant science topics.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY - Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

FULL SUITE OF GALE DATABASES -

BIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT - 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts.

BOOKS AND AUTHORS* - Combines over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Includes a "What Do I Read Next?" collection.

CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM -  critical essays on contemporary authors.

LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER* - biographical info, overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines and time periods and from around the world.

LITERATURE RESOURCES FROM GALE - Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Includes literary works, journal articles, criticism, reviews, biographies & overviews.

Business & Finance

BUSINESS INSIGHTS: ESSENTIALS* - company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.

GENERAL BUSINESS FILE ASAP - Analyzes company performance and activity, industry events and trends and the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.

History

MASSACHUSETTS HISTORY ONLINE - full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources directly related to MA history.

U.S. HISTORY IN CONTEXT* - Contextual information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

GALE WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT* - Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Magazine Articles

GENERAL ONEFILE - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

GENERAL REFERENCE CENTER GOLD - A general interest database with articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more from newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications.

Medicine and Health

HEALTH AND WELLNESS RESOURCE CENTER* - Includes health/medical journals, reference volumes, health videos, pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications and Gale reference titles.

HEALTH REFERENCE CENTER ACADEMIC - full text articles from nursing and allied health journals plus the personal health information in Health Reference Center.

Newspapers

NEW YORK TIMES

MASSACHUSETTS NEWSSTAND - BOSTON GLOBE

Social Issues

GLOBAL ISSUES IN CONTEXT* International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Gale OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT* - Contextual information and opinions on today's hottest social issues.

Youth-Oriented Study

INFOTRAC JUNIOR EDITION K-12 - for junior high and middle school students

INFOTRAC STUDENT EDITION - for high-school students.

KIDS INFOBITS- for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.

Click Here  to begin using these resources.

Return to the Brooks Free Library homepage
 
88